Saba and St. Eustatius like Bonaire, became a public body (often referred to as "special municipality") of the Netherlands after the dissolution of the Netherlands Antilles on 10 October 2010. Together they form the BES-Islands.

Through the establishment of the BES-islands as a public body, rather than a “gemeente”, the rules may differ from the rules in the European part of the Netherlands. The Dutch legislation will be introduced gradually. The public bodies fall directly under the central government because they are not part of a province.