Under the direction of the Governor of Saba, our local government consists of an Island Council and an Executive Council which is the administrative body.

Article 47 of the Island Regulation states that the Executive Council consists of the Lieutenant Governor, who is a member, as well as its chairman, and a minimum of two and a maximum of seven Commissioners as members. The Commissioners are elected by the Island Council. The Executive Council is charged with the daily administration.

The Executive Council of is made up of commissioners who inturn are responsible for various portfolios, where under you will find the government departments or foundations. Every four (4) years an Island election is called where members are elected to the Island Council.